Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Fingerprinting is offered here at the police department as a courtesy. Upon showing documentation indicating proof of residence, residents of American Fork City and Cedar Hills City are not charged a fee. Non-Residents must pay $25. We offer fingerprinting Monday through Thursday from 8 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. on a first come, first serve basis.
Show All Answers
We would love to meet you and give you a tour of the Police Department! Keep in mind that we offer group tours by appointment only, and some dates may not be available due to scheduling conflicts. Please contact us at least 2 weeks prior to to the date you wish to have your tour so we can determine whether an officer will be available. See our forms section to fill out a request online.
Yes, we do offer Live Scan Fingerprinting. Our hours for fingerprints are Monday - Thursday from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm.
Sec. 10.04.120. - Street legal all-terrain vehicles. A. Except as prohibited herein, all public streets and highways within the jurisdictional limits of American Fork City are designated as open for the use of street legal Type I and Type II all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) as defined in Utah Code Section 41-22-2.B. Street legal ATVs are not to be driven on any interstate freeway, limited access highway as defined in Utah Code Section 41-6a-102, or city streets that have more than one lane in the same direction, including, but not limited to the following:1. State Street, for the entire length of the road;2. Pioneer Crossing, for the entire length of the road;3. North County Boulevard, for the entire length of the road;4. 100 East, for the entire length of the road;5. 500 East, from State Road to 1100 South; and6. 900 West, from 700 North to Northwest State Road.7. Main Street from 500 West to Pioneer Crossing.C. Notwithstanding the prohibitions in subsection (B), street legal ATVs may be driven on any city street or highway in the following circumstances:1. When crossing a street or highway if the operator comes to a complete stop before crossing, proceeds only after yielding the right-of-way to oncoming traffic, and crosses at a right angle;2. When loading or unloading the ATV from a vehicle or trailer, which shall be done with due regard for safety, and at the nearest practical point of operation; and 3. When an emergency exists, during any period of time and at those locations when the operation of conventional motor vehicles is impractical or when the operation is directed by a peace officer or other public authority.D. In order to be street legal, all-terrain vehicles must:1. Comply with the same requirements as a motorcycle for:a. Registration, titling, odometer statement, vehicle identification, license plates, and registration fee under Utah Code Title 41, Chapter la, Motor Vehicle Act;b. Fees in lieu of property taxes or in lieu fees under Utah Code Section 59-2-405.2; andc. The county motor vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance programs under Utah Code Section 41-6a-1642;2. Comply with the same requirements as a motor vehicle for:a. Driver licensing under Utah Code Title 53, Chapter 3, Uniform Driver License Act;b. Motor vehicle insurance under Utah Code Title 41, Chapter 12a, Financial Responsibility of Motor Vehicle Owners and Operators Act; andc. Safety inspection requirements under Utah Code Title 53, Chapter 8, Part 2, Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Act, except that a street-legal ATV shall be subject to a safety inspection when registered for the first time;3. Comply with the same requirements as an all-terrain type I or type II vehicle for off-highway vehicle provisions under Utah Code Title 41, Chapter 22, Off-Highway Vehicles, and Title 41, Chapter 3, Motor Vehicle Business Regulation Act; and4. Be equipped with:a. One or more headlamps that meet the requirements of Utah Code Section 41-6a-1603;b. One or more tail lamps;c. A tail lamp of other lamp constructed and placed to illuminate the registration plate with a white light; d. One or more red reflectors on the rear;e. One or more stop lamps on the rear;f. Amber or red electric turn signals, one on each side of the front and rear;g. A braking system, other than a parking brake, that meets the requirements of Utah Code Section 41-6a-1623;h. A horn or other warning device that meets the requirements of Utah Code Section 41-6a-1625;i. A muffler and emission control system that meets the requirements of Utah Code Section 41-6a-1626;j. Rearview mirrors on the right and left side of the driver in accordance with Utah Code Section 41-6a-1627;k. A windshield, unless the operator wears eye protection while operating the vehicle;l. A speedometer, illuminated for nighttime operation;m. For vehicles designed by the manufacturer for carrying one or more passengers, a seat designed for passengers, including a footrest and handhold for each passenger;n. For vehicles with side-by-side seating, seatbelts for each vehicle occupant; ando. Tires that (i) do not exceed twenty-six inches in height, (ii) are not larger than the tires that the all-terrain vehicle manufacturer made available for the all-terrain vehicle model, and (iii) have at least 2/32 inches or greater tire tread.E. All operators of street legal all-terrain vehicles must:1. Have in their possession a valid driver's license, with appropriate endorsements; and2. Follow all applicable traffic rules for motorcycles under Utah Code Title 41 Chapter 6a, Traffic Code, including obeying all applicable traffic signals.F. Subject to the requirements set forth herein, an operator of forty-five miles per hour, whichever is less. If the posted speed limit is higher than forty-five miles per hour, the operator shall operate the ATV on the extreme right hand side of the roadway and shall equip the ATV with a reflector or reflective tape.G. A person under the age of eighteen may not operate or ride on an all-terrain vehicle on city streets unless the person is wearing protective headgear which complies with the requirements of Utah Code Section 41-6a-1505.
Sec. 9.06.010. - Discharge or concealment of weapons prohibited—Exceptions. It is unlawful for any person, within the city limits of the city, to discharge or carry concealed upon his person any instrumentality which, by its design or use, is capable of inflicting death or serious bodily harm on himself or another, including but not limited to any slingshot, flipper, target bow, hunting bow, cross-bow, pistol, rifle, blow gun, dart gun, B-B gun, any similar contrivance capable of projecting missiles a horizontal distance of fifty feet or more, or any instrument loaded with gunpowder or other explosives; provided, however, the following activities shall be excepted from the foregoing provisions:
A. The discharge of slingshots, flippers, target bows, hunting bows, and cross-bows on real property owned by the party discharging the weapons, or on real property over which the party discharging the weapons has the right to possession, provided the projectiles discharged from the weapons remain upon the property which is owned by the party discharging the weapon or as to which the party discharging the weapon has the right to possession;B. The discharge of any of the instrumentalities upon a range inspected and approved for such use by the mayor or his designated agent;C. The discharge of any of the instrumentalities in self defense when legally allowed to do so;D. The discharge of any of the instrumentalities by any peace officer while in the discharge of his duties;E. The concealment of any of the instrumentalities by any person who has obtained a written permit or license or such specified use from the mayor or his designated agent or such other state or local official in accordance with the provisions of Section 76-10-513 of Utah Code Annotated, 1953; andF. The discharge or concealment of the instrumentality set forth in this chapter where the discharge or concealment is otherwise permitted by law.
Bike registration is free for American Fork or Cedar Hills Citizens. You can register your bike by coming in to our Police Department during regular business hours (Monday - Thursday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm). Please bring the make, model and serial number of your bicycle. It only takes a few minutes to fill out the registration form and receive your registration sticker.